See Awards for:
2022 (A.S. 56)2021 (A.S. 55)2020 (A.S. 54)
2019 (A.S. 53)2018 (A.S. 52)2017 (A.S. 51)2016 (A.S. 50)
2015 (A.S. 49)2014 (A.S. 48)2013 (A.S. 47)2012 (A.S. 46)
2011 (A.S. 45)2010 (A.S. 44)2009 (A.S. 43)2008 (A.S. 42)
2007 (A.S. 41)2006 (A.S. 40)2005 (A.S. 39)2004 (A.S. 38)
2003 (A.S. 37)2002 (A.S. 36)2001 (A.S. 35)2000 (A.S. 34)

Master William Blackfox was the author and illustrator of the cartoon Warthaven. He gave generously of his time and talents, and was very supportive of the Kingdom Chroniclers until his untimely death.

To honor his memory, the Office of the Society Chronicler sponsors the annual Master William Blackfox Awards to recognize excellence in the work of Chroniclers and newsletter contributors. Newsletters provide a valuable resource and communication tool for SCA members around the world!

Many thanks to the skill and talent of THL Gala Cunningham, a former Ansteorran Chronicler, for the Blackfox Award logo.

How are people nominated for the William Blackfox Awards?

The Kingdom Chroniclers make the initial nominations from the works in their Kingdom. (Kingdom Newsletters and Corporate Publications are not eligible.) All kingdoms are encouraged to participate and send in at least two nominations for each of the seven categories. (Note to all Chroniclers – be sure to send copies of your publications to your Kingdom Chronicler. Not only is it policy for you to do so, but it is the only way you can be nominated to participate in this competition.)

Most kingdoms notify nominees of their nomination, either by mentioning their names in print or by sending them a letter congratulating them on their fine work and their nomination to the competition. It is important that all participants realize that the nomination of their work is an indication of excellence. The entries are then separated into the eight categories and the judging is completed by the Society Chronicler, with the assistance of disinterested individuals or experts, where necessary.

In each category, a winner and a Commended entry are chosen. The winners of the William Blackfox Awards, along with those entries recognized as Commended, will be announced each fall, and will appear in the Kingdom newsletters and Tournaments Illuminated. The complete list of all nominees is published on

If you have any questions or suggestions, please send them to me at [email protected].