The William Blackfox Awards

Return to list of all Blackfox awards

Once again I have had the pleasure of orchestrating the Annual Master William Blackfox Awards. Master Duncan McAllister, the new Society Chronicler charged me with the duty this year – one which I have enjoyed tremendously over the last few years. I am always impressed by the skill and effort from the local chroniclers who are eligible for participation in the awards program. The Kingdom Chroniclers nominate local chroniclers from their kingdom in each of the categories and submit them to the society level for the judging process.

As always, the judging process is very difficult. There is so much wonderful work submitted and I am very thankful for the many people who have helped make the challenging choices between the nominees. The judging process is conducted by a number of people including members of the SCA and non-members to give the fairest judging possible. Over the past four nomination processes I have had help from a number of people who have been invaluable in giving of their time and opinions to help with this lengthy process. I would like to take this opportunity to thank the following gentles: Lady Brianna of Arundel, Sir Guy LeStrange, Lady Emma Dandelion, Lord Godwyn Stuart de Lacy, Lady Moira, Lord Liam, THL Gala Cunningham, Herr Alexander Gustav van Hardtwald, Lord Maximillian von Brandenberg, Sir John Peregrine of Restormel, and Lord Robin of Restormel. Also thanks to all the Kingdom Chroniclers who worked hard to sort through the possible nominations and submit the necessary paperwork. All of these people have made contributions and sacrifices for the Blackfox Awards. I would also like to thank my parents who have also served as judges for several sections of the Blackfox Award process. Special thanks to the staff of Tournaments Illuminated for their help and the “webfolks,” specifically Mistress Jessa d’Avondale, for her help in posting the nominations and winners to the SCA website.

There are many nominees which appear year after year. They are truly among the best of the best and it is always a pleasure to see the work they have done. Particular nominations of note are the Equinox (newsletter for the Shire of Sol Haven in the Kingdom of Meridies), Penfeathers (newsletter from the Meridian Pages’ School), and Storm Tidings (newsletter for the Shire of Adamastor in Drachenwald). They are excellent examples of what a local newsletter can and should be.

In faithful service,
Honor of Restormel, Deputy Society Chronicler

Best Overall Newsletter

The newsletter which best meets the needs of the local group or guild for which it is published. It should accurately reflect the status of the group and be a valuable tool for growth and promotion of SCA goals and ideals. Awarded to the newsletter and the Chronicler.

The winner: Drachenwald: Principality of Nordmark, The Silversparren, Chronicler: Lady Uvhild Ingrsdotter Skragge.

The remaining nominees:

Best Layout and Design

For the best-looking newsletter. Awarded to the newsletter and the Chronicler.

The winner: Trimaris: Shire of Stagridge, Stagge Ragge, Chronicler: Lady Lyneue la Sawyere

The remaining nominees:

Best Art

For artwork on the cover or interior of the newsletter. Awarded to the newsletter and the artist.

The winner: An Tir: Barony of Three Mountains, The Plume, cover art for July A.S. XXXVII. Chronicler Hlutwige Wolfkiller. Artist: unknown

The remaining nominees:

Best Special Issue

For Arts & Sciences issues, or other limited-focus issues of a geographic group (Canton, Shire, Barony, etc.). Awarded to the newsletter and the Chronicler.

The winners (tie):
AEthelmearc: Barony Marche of the Debatable Lands. The Althing, a Miscellany, Chronicler: Lord Michael Alewright.
Ansteorra: The Flamebearer, Barony of Wiesenfeuer, Arts and Sciences issue A.S. 37, Chronicler: THL Isaac Bane.

The remaining nominees:

Best Special Interest Newsletter

This category recognizes guild newsletters, research newsletters, and Arts & Science focus newsletters (such as lace-making). Awarded to the newsletter and the Chronicler.

The winner: AEthelmearc:The AEthelmearc Scribal Newsletter, Chronicler: Lady Alienora Russeal

The remaining nominees:

Best Regular Feature

For those cartoons, articles,and columns which appear regularly in the particular newsletter. Awarded to the creator or feature writer and the newsletter.

The winner: Middle: Shire of Dernerheralde, The Derneheralde, Chronicler: Kari of Dernehealde, Author of “The Anvil’s Ring”: Laird Eidiard an Gobhainn, OGR.

The remaining nominees:

Best Article

Recognizes the author of an outstanding article. Awarded to the writer and the newsletter.

The winners (tie)
:Middle: The Gauntlet, Regional Newsletter for the Region of Pentamere, Chronicler: Lord Dalkrvor the Intimid. Article: “How to Run Successful Demonstrations” by Lady Caitlyn of Green Castle.
Meridies: Principality of Gleann Abhann, The Ambassador, Chronicler: Robert von Flusswasser. Article: “Practical Creativity” by Lady Aisling Delynyk le Dering.

The remaining nominees:

Honorable Mentions:

These are nominations which didn’t fit into the above categories, yet are still deserving of recognition for their exceptional work and/or dedication to producing the best possible newsletter for the local group served.